Archetype by M.D. Waters (Feb 2014)

arch

I loved this book. It’s futuristic, dystopian, scifi that should attract even those who, like me, don’t normally get into that genre.  I’m dying to read the sequel, Prototype, coming out next summer.  What I really like about this book is that you’re never really sure exactly who’s the good guy, and who’s the bad.  And with the bad guys, you’re not sure exactly how bad, or if the bad bits are actually kind of good.  There’s also romance, which is a plus on my checklist.  But again, you’re not sure whether the love is well-placed.  I’m reading another book, Parasite by Mira Grant, that reminds me a little of Waters’ Archetype, in that both deal with medical advances, and what they could mean for our future.  Corporate medicine, pharmaceutical giants, loom large — and don’t they loom large in our own lives lived off the printed page?  This real-world connection makes it easy to relate to and get absorbed in these fast-paced novels.  Hooray for M.D. Waters!  It’s too bad you’ll have to wait until February when it comes out — but put it on your list today!  Advance Reader’s Copy provided by Penguin.

About Cheryl McNeil
I am the User Services Librarian at the Orangeburg Library in Orangeburg, NY

One Response to Archetype by M.D. Waters (Feb 2014)

  1. john851 says:

    I am not really into science fiction, either, but this sounds great, Cheryl. I have added it to my “books to read” list which grows bigger with each of your reviews (the good ones, anyway).

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

