The Lunatics by Dave Berry and Alan Zweibel (Jan, 2012)

First, a board member went into hysterics over this book.  Then a member of upper management.  Then I did.  Lunchtime in the staff room was unbearable for all the ineffectively suppressed snorts of laughter.  And now every time it’s back on our shelves, I face it out with a staff recommendation label, and it gets snatched up.  Everything that happens in Lunatics is stupid.  That a lemur figures so prominently in a caper that begins with two Jewish men in New York City who loathe each other but somehow always end up in each others’ bubbles that flit from one continent to another with ridiculous rapidity and no true point other than digging themselves deeper into the hole they dug themselves at the beginning with said lemur, may give you some idea of the absurd romp you are in for.  Or not.  There’s no good way to explain the plot of such of a book.  You just have to experience it.  If you have a taste for the absurd (and a tolerance for profanity) — and perhaps enjoyed Mark Helprin’s Frederick and Fredericka — you won’t make it half a page without embarrassing yourself in public.

About Cheryl McNeil
I am the User Services Librarian at the Orangeburg Library in Orangeburg, NY

4 Responses to The Lunatics by Dave Berry and Alan Zweibel (Jan, 2012)

  1. Angela says:

    I can confirm that you cannot contain your laughter. I’m going to put this on my to read list!

  2. starscout59 says:

    also available as an audio book. lol. really. also sputtering.

  3. john851 says:

    I read this book based on the staff recommendation sticker. I agree that is hilarious and also outrageous. I found myself laughing at the most insane antics. This was definitely a fun read.

    • Cheryl McNeil says:

      So glad you liked it . . . and that you picked up something with a staff recommendation sticker! As an aside, I spent 10 minutes joining the children’s librarian in a craft program, making “worry dolls”, and what was my doll? . . . a LEMUR. I guess the book is still having its effect on me 🙂

What do you think?

