The Professional/The Player by Rhonda Nelson (Oct 2012)

Yes, this is a Harlequin.  But instead of the cheesy illustration of a couple on the front, it’s got the obligatory (for all mass market romances) photo of a hot guy.  The writing is decent, though definitely aimed at Middle America.  There’s nothing to make you think deeply or challenge.  No pulling heart strings either.  And although this is a “Blaze” imprint, the heat isn’t hot hot.  I read this, primarily, to see exactly how hot “Blaze” is.  I don’t know . . . now that Fifty Shades has made erotica mainstream, my standards for what “hot” means have inched up (or shall we say down?).  Nonetheless, this book is an enjoyable escape read about an ex-Ranger working security on a jewel thieving case at a wealthy retirement community.  The object of his affections is the granddaughter of one of the deceased residents, and originally his prime suspect.  I haven’t yet read the second novel included in this volume, The Player.  But I’m quite sure I’ll pick it up when the other five books I’m reading have me thinking too hard, and I really just want to relax.  Advance readers copy provided by the publisher and Netgalley.

About Cheryl McNeil
I am the User Services Librarian at the Orangeburg Library in Orangeburg, NY

What do you think?

