Longing for Home by Sarah M. Eden (August 2013)

longingThis book is labeled “A Proper Romance” on the cover.  I think that’s because there is no sex, and only one exceptionally chaste kissing scene.  The “Proper” bit almost made me put the book down.  I’m glad I didn’t.  I read this book quickly and enjoyed it, in spite of the treacly  and repetitious spots, and moments when the main character doth protest too much.  This is a sweet romance that takes place in a small Wyoming frontier town.  But it illuminates an historical reality that was anything but sweet:  the intense, sometimes fatal discrimination faced by Irish immigrants.  I knew the Irish were treated poorly.  But I did not realize the extent of the discrimination, the blatant, in-your-face unfairness of it.  And I knew something about the famine from which they escaped.  But I did not have a feel for the impossible choices families faced.  So I recommend this novel for it’s enjoyable, chaste romance; and for the history that will grab your attention and keep it, giving you that emotional connection to an aspect of the country’s expansion that fiction often does best.  Advance Reader’s Copy supplied by BEA.

About Cheryl McNeil
I am the User Services Librarian at the Orangeburg Library in Orangeburg, NY

2 Responses to Longing for Home by Sarah M. Eden (August 2013)

  1. So if we could just replace that violin with a sex Irishman whose nipples are showing…
    Thanks for the recommendation. I don’t mind reading “proper romances” as long as I know they are proper going into it. Nothing worse than expecting a little somethin’ somethin’ and getting nothin’.

What do you think?

